Winds of change

This weekend I waved ‘bye for now, not forever’ to one of my best friends as she left Sydney to continue her adventures travelling and working abroad. 

As goodbyes go it was a pretty great one – because we were both excited for what was next.

She was going on to a new country (enter stage left; exciting times ahead in a world unknown!) and I had my lovely Bronte home and new job to look forward to.

As I waved bye to one loved one, I waved hello to four more 😊 …

lara-priv1
Bye (for now;)
lara-priv5
My little sisters on route to Singers!
My family (Stepdad, Mum and two little sisters), left the UK on Friday to start a new life in Singapore. 

Knowing how I felt that first time I left home in January 2014 I could well imagine the feelings they were going through.

Before leaving I remember life felt like it was rushing by very quickly. 

I felt I had so much to do, to sort out, things to sell/ giveaway and various special people I needed to see.

While on the other side of the coin it felt like time had stopped still and it wasn’t really happening. 

I remember I always knew I would ‘be alright’ and although I had no idea what lay ahead when I would land in Thailand, I had an underlying sense that it would all ‘be fine’ and I’d ‘be ok’ with whatever came my way.

I think that feeling was what kept me going. 

In many ways it would have been easier to back out of my grand plans; find a new job and home and just stay put in London.

 “The life you have led doesn’t need to be the only life you have.” – Anna Quindlen

So, knowing the feelings I went through myself, I wish all the luck in the world to my family. 

I’m so proud they’ve done it!. I can’t wait to see how life maps out ahead for them.

As soon as is possible I will be visiting Singapore. 

I have flown through the (award winning – best in the world!) airport before but am yet to step foot in the city itself.

I have heard nothing but good things about the place and am really excited to make it my second home. 

Flights are just 8 hours direct from Sydney – it’s comforting to know I can just ‘pop over’ and be there within a day if needed.

Also, super excited for my family to visit me in Sydney when the timing is good for them – especially my middle sister, Fearne; the day we finally hit Bondi Beach together (not just via FaceTime!) is going to be a memorable day indeed.

 “Adventure is worthwhile.” – Aesop

Thanks for reading. Have a great week!

@LaraLain

2 thoughts on “Winds of change

  1. Ah lar you are so lovely
    And yes you did it you know how we felt
    Everything is going smoothly at the moment and it will be soooo nice to be closer to you
    Xxx❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

