The upsides of running & why you should do it!

This week I 110% got back on the running buzz. Over Christmas and New Year I didn’t go out once. With so much celebrating to do I knew there was no point whatsoever.

In total I had around 3 weeks off, generally I don’t tend to have more than 3 days off in a row. I ran consistently all of last year so this break felt like a longggg time.

When I started again I wasn’t sure how my body would take it – turns out it did me good. My fitness levels are fine, I’m not tip-top but give me another 10 days or so and I’ll be back to where I was before 2016 closed its doors.

I’ve talked about running before and always say the same thing; for me it’s one of the greatest joys in my life.


Why I love running so much…

  • I run at sunrise or sunset and bearing that in mind, I’m seeing in the day feeling the GOODs or I’m closing it off balanced by releasing anything that’s been playing on my mind in the day.
  • The pre-stretch; reminding my body it’s time to GET UP & GO!
  • I am very, very fortunate that one of the best running routes in the world is on my doorstep. I run the cliffs between Bondi to Coogee (and back), normally going Bondi – Clovelly, depending on how much time I have.
  • Music. I blast it LOUD on shuffle and find myself singing as I go too (not when I’m sprinting!).
  • Pushing myself to the max; I love running up hills and steps, the greater the challenge the better.
  • Me time; I run alone, it’s my hour where I am completely to myself.
  • Fresh air.
  • Sweating it all out.
  • Do it for YOU. You don’t need anyone to run. Just little ol’ you and you’re sorted. Make the most of your independence and get out there!
  • The FUCK YEAH feels. I constantly think ‘this is amazing, I love life!!!!’ when I’m running, the high is very, very real.
  • Taking a moment to stop and take some awesome running-route pics (and fitspo selfies!) along the way.
  • The kit. I absolutely LOVE my Running Bare gear and will probs never wear another brand again!
  • The final sprint; I always push myself the last part of my run (which is always up hill along the cliff to Bondi).
  • The after glow; the post-run feeling of smashing out a run can’t be beat.
  • The cool down. I walk home and get myself together while feeling ready to conquer the world. I never ever regret a run.
  • My body; I’m in the best shape of my life. I’ve run miles upon miles, I’ve worked for this and I am PROUD.
  • Getting fit means you’re F I T; I can wear anything and have no problem whatsoever getting naked with the lights on.

All in all my entire life is shaped by running; I’m sharper in work. My confidence is sky high. I have no worries whatsoever with how I look on the outside and inside I feel a million bucks after every session.


When I first moved to London in 2008 I only had one friend (Natalie), so at that point I was a world away from the person I am today. I used to go home after my internship with The Daily Express fashion team and watch Friends back-to-back and scoff chocolate. I was still small but I wasn’t fit. After leaving life behind

My love for Friends and chocolate hasn’t changed but once I started running that same year I moved to London I was on the right path for a better quality of life.

If I can go from TV + eating crap to smashing 12km runs whenever it suits me you can do it too. If you already run you know what I’m saying! And if you don’t there is no time like the present to get up and move your body – we only live once, make the most of the body you have – if running isn’t your bag be sure to find a sport that gets you hyped. You will never look back!

One of my life goals is to be one of the those old ladies in their 70’s (and beyond) who still go running across Bondi in their bikinis. Absolute legends!

Have a great week!

@LaraLain

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE life, travel, love, career (and beyond!) articles by Lara Lain 

 

Leave a Reply

