White lies, honesty and the quest for the perfect life (relatable) 

img_3149Brad and Angelina are breaking up and the world has had a fit … The ”perfect” life shattered with one headline.

Does anyone really have a perfect life? It’s a big ask to have it all, yet somehow we often compare ourselves to others; thinking that they have everything.

On reading that ‘news’ I thought “all is not what it seems – we only see what they want us to see”.

Celebrity or “normal” person, many are in the habit of projecting a vision of consistent happiness, great people, love, wealth. People have become masters of painting a vivid picture of a fantasy existence.

But no matter what is shared on the surface you can bet your bottom dollar that it’s not that great if you dig deeper.

I think my life can look unreal but in reality it never will be everything I wish for. Yes, I live in paradise and love, love, love my Sydney life BUT I see my family once a year at most – I hate myself for the distance I’ve put between us.


I post updates on social media every day and 9 times out of 10 it’s me in a happy state. I feel happiness is infectious and that sharing positive things hopefully projects the appreciation I have for this life. If one person takes a bit of light into their day from something I share that’s awesome.

If I share something negative I try to handle it delicately as I don’t want people to worry about me (or think I am attention seeking). I try to position bad times as something to learn from, hurdles to overcome, issues to be dealt with and left behind.

Whatever I share or write about you can be certain I am being upfront. I am an open book and if I want to be considered as anything it is honest. I want people to read my blog and feel like they know me (even if they don’t) and to know they could ask me anything and they will always be answered sincerely.


Lately I have crossed paths with a handful of people that have led me a merry path. I’ve literally sat having conversations, smiling and nodding, taking it all in whilst thinking “you’re full of it”.

I’ve witnessed people lying in business just to get money across the table, I’ve been invited to an event by one friend to be told by another it’s not on. I had a convo recently with someone lording it up, telling me they lived in a prime Sydney location. I knew the area (as a friend of mine lives there) and we went into detail about the amazing views, the ease of getting around the city from there etc. A few weeks later I randomly ended up at said persons house for a party – the house was nowhere near where they had told me.

Of course this doesn’t matter and it’s not a big issue at all but I couldn’t fathom the tale … Why do people fabricate parts of their life? There is no need. If you want to impress someone just be yourself – no gimmicks required.

These are just a few examples, none of which are groundbreaking issues but I’m flagging them as this kind of thing happens all.the.time.

People tell you what they think you want to hear. They also tell you what they wish was true in an attempt to lead this “perfect life”. As soon as I know I’ve been lied to my respect goes out the window, I think being honest is one of the most important things you can be.

If you need to tell fibs to try and get people on your side then something isn’t ringing right – people who are worth your time don’t need to be fleeced.

Nobody has a perfect life, all we can do is make the best of what we have and try and be decent humans along the way. If you’re a compulsive fibber trying to keep up with the Joneses you really don’t need to be. Honesty is always the best policy.

In love, in friendships, in work – be true to who you really are. Be proud of yourself and surround yourself with people who appreciate the genuine you.

You’re not perfect, nor am I and that’s more than fine ☺️

@LaraLain

3 thoughts on “White lies, honesty and the quest for the perfect life (relatable) 

  1. Hey lar you are doing really well you have been to great places and met some characters on the way
    You are independent and clever and remember as long as you are a kind thoughtful hard working person and treat people how you like to be treated you won’t go far wrong
    Love ya ❤️❤️🌞

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading and kind comment ☺️ you are right, I’ve done some great things with great people and I’m forever grateful for that. Just need to find a new job and hopefully everything will click into place. Love you 💕💕💕☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

